tornadoes http://kcur.org en Finding The Origins Of Tornado Chasers http://kcur.org/post/finding-origins-tornado-chasers <p></p><p>The booming thunderstorms and crazy spring weather have moved in, and any Midwesterner knows what comes with them—tornadoes. Most of us retreat to basements when those sirens sound, but a select few take that as a cue to go hunting for the cyclones.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 54272 at http://kcur.org Finding The Origins Of Tornado Chasers Why Storm Chasers Do What They Do http://kcur.org/post/why-storm-chasers-do-what-they-do <p>Last month, as we all know, a series of tornadoes devastated areas around Oklahoma City, with dozens killed and hundreds injured over several days of storms.</p><p>Among the casualties were three men who were well known in the meteorological community and, indeed, to television audiences: Storm chasers Tim Samaras, his son Paul Samaras and Carl Young were doing interviews and sending back footage the day of the EF-3 El Reno storm that changed direction on them and killed them.</p><p>In light of these tragic events we wonder, just what is a storm chaser anyway?</p><p> Thu, 13 Jun 2013 23:07:28 +0000 Brian Ellison & Matthew Long-Middleton 38479 at http://kcur.org Why Storm Chasers Do What They Do Reuiniting Joplin With Their Lost Photos http://kcur.org/post/reuiniting-joplin-their-lost-photos <p>When the Joplin tornado struck one year ago, so much was destroyed or scattered that can never be replaced. And it became up to a few creative heroes to restore some of that order. Abi Almandinger is one of those forces.</p> Wed, 23 May 2012 18:24:07 +0000 Charlie Upchurch, Andrea Silenzi & Jabulani Leffall 18108 at http://kcur.org Reuiniting Joplin With Their Lost Photos Early Warnings Reduced Human Loss From Tornadoes http://kcur.org/post/early-warnings-reduced-human-loss-tornadoes <p>The tornado systems that roared through Kansas over the weekend had an historic quality to them. An early warning appears to have limited the number of injuries as more than a hundred tornadoes touched down. Mon, 16 Apr 2012 11:55:39 +0000 Dan Verbeck 16034 at http://kcur.org Tornado Hits Wichita's Ailing Aviation Industry http://kcur.org/post/tornado-hits-wichitas-ailing-aviation-industry Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>The tornado season started early in much of the nation and continued over the weekend. Spotters reported more than 120 tornadoes on Saturday. One killed five people in Woodward, Oklahoma. Others ripped into homes and businesses in Iowa and Kansas. And that includes the heart of the economy in Wichita, the aviation industry. Here's Frank Morris from member station KCUR.<p>FRANK MORRIS, BYLINE: Kansas got the most tornadoes, almost 100 of them. Possibly a record, according to Sam Brownback, the governor. Mon, 16 Apr 2012 08:00:00 +0000 editor 16022 at http://kcur.org After Ferocious Texas Tornadoes, Two Incredibly Welcome Words: 'No Deaths' http://kcur.org/post/after-ferocious-texas-tornadoes-two-incredibly-welcome-words-no-deaths <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N92dHn_hbRQ</p> Wed, 04 Apr 2012 11:35:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 15397 at http://kcur.org After Ferocious Texas Tornadoes, Two Incredibly Welcome Words: 'No Deaths' Tornadoes Touch Down Near Dallas; Widespread Damage Reported http://kcur.org/post/possible-tornadoes-touch-down-near-dallas "We've got two tornadoes, one in Dallas and one in Arlington. Tue, 03 Apr 2012 19:02:00 +0000 editor 15364 at http://kcur.org Tornadoes Touch Down Near Dallas; Widespread Damage Reported Emergency Responders On The Ground In Harveyville http://kcur.org/post/emergency-responders-ground-harveyville <p>Emergency responders say that is was probably a tornado that ripped through the tiny town of Harveyville, Kansas last night. The town of just over 200 residents in Wabaunsee County was community hit hardest by last night's storms, leaving 40 percent of buildings damaged or destroyed. At least a dozen of the town's residents were injured, at least one of them critically.</p> Wed, 29 Feb 2012 21:40:11 +0000 Stephen Koranda 13408 at http://kcur.org