Middle East http://kcur.org en Journalist Examines 'What Wars Leave Behind' http://kcur.org/post/journalist-examines-what-wars-leave-behind <p></p><p></p><p>While armed conflicts are ongoing, media coverage brings images and sounds from the center of war zones to the world. But what happens when the guns go silent and the combatants and media go home?</p><p>J. Malcolm Garcia looks at the people left to survive in the aftermath in his book, <em>What Wars Leave Behind: The Faceless and the Forgotten. </em>On Wednesday's <a href="http://www.kcur.org/programs/date" target="_blank"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, the author talks with Steve Kraske about "the endless messiness of war and the failings of good intentions."</p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 15:22:19 +0000 Steve Kraske & Danie Alexander 58271 at http://kcur.org Journalist Examines 'What Wars Leave Behind' Be Prepared For Travel Abroad http://kcur.org/post/be-prepared-travel-abroad <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Many college students often spend a summer abroad for additional course credit or just to see a bit of the world. In the second portion of Friday's </span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">Up to Date</em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">, Steve </span>Kraske<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> talks with a member of the State Department for some advice that could make their, or anyone's, time away from home as safe as possible.</span></p><p><strong>Guest:</strong></p> Fri, 16 May 2014 20:55:18 +0000 Steve Kraske & Danie Alexander 55862 at http://kcur.org Be Prepared For Travel Abroad Unearthed Treasure: The Ethics And Aesthetics Of Displaying Tomb Relics http://kcur.org/post/unearthed-treasure-ethics-and-aesthetics-displaying-tomb-relics <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Two museum exhibitions currently in Kansas City are using tomb relics to bring ancient times and faraway places to life. &nbsp;These artifacts have survived journeys of thousands of miles and thousands of years.</span></p> Tue, 13 May 2014 15:05:44 +0000 Gina Kaufmann & Matthew Long-Middleton 55835 at http://kcur.org Behind The Lens In The Middle East http://kcur.org/post/behind-lens-middle-east <p>It’s one thing to open up <em>Time</em> magazine and flip through the pages, briefly noticing the<strong> images from the latest Middle East conflict</strong>. It’s quite another to <strong>stand behind the camera.</strong> Tue, 05 Feb 2013 00:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 31442 at http://kcur.org Behind The Lens In The Middle East Adania Shibli: Growing Up In Palestine http://kcur.org/post/adania-shibli-growing-palestine <p><strong>Adania Shibli</strong> grew up in Palestine which became a source of inspiration for her writing.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 17 Oct 2012 15:48:41 +0000 Jabulani Leffall & Danie Alexander 26130 at http://kcur.org Adania Shibli: Growing Up In Palestine Travel As A Political Act http://kcur.org/post/travel-political-act <p>It's easy to vilify an entire country because of its political leadership. But don't you think it would be interesting to explore the Middle Eastern treasures of Iran, visit the southeast Asian jewel of Vietnam, or trek through the jungles of the former war-torn Nicaragua?</p> Wed, 29 Feb 2012 18:59:14 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 13348 at http://kcur.org Travel As A Political Act