arson http://kcur.org en Suspect In University Arsons Will Go To Prison http://kcur.org/post/suspect-university-arsons-will-go-prison <p>A man from Columbia, Mo., is going to federal prison for six and a half years for setting fires at University of Missouri’s main library and at Stephens College.</p><p>The penalty includes $600,000 in restitution.</p><p>At least seven fires were set in Ellis Library in September 2011. Computers and security cameras and windows were shattered with a pipe.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">Damage and cleanup was worth roughly $1.5 million.</span></p><p>Christopher Curtis Kelley, 27, also damaged the repository of Missouri State Historical Society housed in the same building.</p> Fri, 24 Jan 2014 11:36:19 +0000 Dan Verbeck 50179 at http://kcur.org Prison For Three In Hereford House Arson http://kcur.org/post/prison-three-hereford-house-arson <p></p><p>Three Kansas City men convicted in the 2008 arson-destruction of the popular Hereford House restaurant have 14 days to appeal their sentences. The terms range from 15 to 20 years.</p><p>Fifteen years are ordered for landmark-restaurant owner Rod Anderson, depicted at trial as suffering in the throes of financial failure and desperate for the fire insurance money.</p><p></p><p>There was trial evidence Anderson had tapped his children’s trust funds and his mother’s IRA, trying&nbsp; without success to stave off bankruptcy.</p> Mon, 09 Sep 2013 23:48:21 +0000 Dan Verbeck 43366 at http://kcur.org Prison For Three In Hereford House Arson Video Evidence Is Seen As A Key In Kansas City Federal Arson Trial http://kcur.org/post/video-evidence-seen-key-kansas-city-federal-arson-trial <p>As prosecutors&nbsp; work to bolster their case to a Kansas City federal court jury, it's apparent&nbsp; the State is on a path leading events directly to the fiery 2008 arsonists' explosion at Hereford House Restaurant. Wed, 24 Oct 2012 03:39:56 +0000 Dan Verbeck 26470 at http://kcur.org Video Evidence Is Seen As A Key In Kansas City Federal Arson Trial Arson And Fraud Trial Begins In Kansas City After 2008 Blaze http://kcur.org/post/arson-and-fraud-trial-begins-kansas-city-after-2008-blaze <p>Testimony and evidence have started to flow out of the arson and fraud trial stemming from the 2008 fire that destroyed a well known Kansas City restaurant. Tue, 23 Oct 2012 03:01:58 +0000 Dan Verbeck 26408 at http://kcur.org Arson And Fraud Trial Begins In Kansas City After 2008 Blaze Child's Fireworks Death Leaves Lesson Of Vulnerability http://kcur.org/post/childs-fireworks-death-leaves-lesson-vulnerability <p>The death of a child from fireworks has slipped into recent history, yet it lives on among some who were there in Kansas City, Kansas. Wed, 04 Jul 2012 09:35:46 +0000 Dan Verbeck 20493 at http://kcur.org Indicted: Unsolved Arson Case Lingers No Longer http://kcur.org/post/indicted-unsolved-arson-case-lingers-no-longer <p>Kansas City, MO – The former owner of the Hereford House Restaurant in Kansas City has been indicted by a federal grand jury on charges that include arson and mail fraud.</p> Tue, 22 Jun 2010 22:30:41 +0000 Dan Verbeck 6750 at http://kcur.org Indicted: Unsolved Arson Case Lingers No Longer