Metropolitan Community College http://kcur.org en College Connections Center Works To Stop "Summer Melt" http://kcur.org/post/college-connections-center-works-stop-summer-melt <p></p><p>A new program in the metro is aimed at ensuring that graduating high school seniors intending to go to college don't become victims of "summer melt", the phenomenon where students set for college in the spring don't make it to campus in the fall.</p><p><br />The Kansas City Metro College Connections Center is designed to combat summer melt, an issue especially acute for low-income and first-generation college students.&nbsp; Steve Kraske previews the new Center's goals with MCC-Penn Valley President <strong>Joe Seabrooks</strong> and KCUR reporter <strong>Elle Moxley</strong>.</p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 20:38:38 +0000 Steve Kraske & Danie Alexander 56813 at http://kcur.org College Connections Center Works To Stop "Summer Melt" Community Colleges Granted Millions For Unprepared Students http://kcur.org/post/community-colleges-granted-millions-unprepared-students <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Metropolitan Community College has learned it&rsquo;s getting $12.2 million to level the college pathway for students not quite ready for it.&nbsp;</span></p><p>The millions will be spread system-wide, &nbsp;from Penn Valley Campus to the Blue River campus in Independence.</p><p>Nancy Russell says not many people realize that four out of ten MCC students are over 25 and haven&rsquo;t been in a classroom for years. Other students, she says,&nbsp; need tutoring. Russell heads the school&rsquo;s Institute for Workforce Innovation.</p> Thu, 03 Oct 2013 21:29:09 +0000 Dan Verbeck 44651 at http://kcur.org President Obama Visits UCM, Lauds College Cost Cut Program http://kcur.org/post/president-obama-visits-ucm-lauds-college-cost-cut-program <p></p><p>A western Missouri-based educational program was the lure to bring President Barack Obama to speak in Warrensburg last week. The President said so, directly, in his address at University of Central Missouri.</p><p></p><p>He&nbsp;described the program as a job creator that speeds education for young people without leaving them saddled with student loan debt upon graduation.</p> Sun, 28 Jul 2013 22:13:53 +0000 Dan Verbeck 41025 at http://kcur.org President Obama Visits UCM, Lauds College Cost Cut Program Fab Lab Goes 3D At MCC http://kcur.org/post/fab-lab-goes-3d-mcc <p>A concept that started at MIT more than a decade ago is making its mark in the Kansas City area. &nbsp;It’s called Fab Lab. &nbsp;That’s short for fabrication laboratory. &nbsp;It’s home to cutting edge technology such as a laser engraver and 3d printers plus tools and machinery seen in high school shop classes. &nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 14 Feb 2013 15:21:13 +0000 Maria Carter 31984 at http://kcur.org Fab Lab Goes 3D At MCC KC Port Authority Buys Into Richards-Gebauer, MCC Expands To Site http://kcur.org/post/kc-port-authority-buys-richards-gebauer-mcc-expands-site <p>The Kansas City Port Authority has snapped up six buildings at Richards-Gebaur Commerce Park and is leasing a portion to Metropolitan Community College. Fri, 01 Jun 2012 21:47:42 +0000 Dan Verbeck 18691 at http://kcur.org KC Port Authority Buys Into Richards-Gebauer, MCC Expands To Site Sebelius Touts Electronic Medical Records During Visit http://kcur.org/post/sebelius-touts-electronic-medical-records-during-visit <p>The health industry comprises nearly one fifth of the nation&rsquo;s GDP, but up until recently, relied mostly on paper files.</p><p> Sat, 18 Feb 2012 00:48:12 +0000 Elana Gordon 12748 at http://kcur.org Sebelius Touts Electronic Medical Records During Visit Video: Sebelius To Visit College's Virtual Hospital http://kcur.org/post/video-sebelius-visits-colleges-virtual-hospital <p>U.S. Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius is in Kansas City today, drawing attention to developments in health information technology.</p> Fri, 17 Feb 2012 20:59:58 +0000 Elana Gordon 12712 at http://kcur.org Video: Sebelius To Visit College's Virtual Hospital