Civil War http://kcur.org en Then And Now: A Look Back At The Battle Of Westport http://kcur.org/post/then-and-now-look-back-battle-westport <p>If you've ever noticed plaques in Kansas City's Westport district describing Civil War-era events, then you have at least a little background on the Battle of Westport, a series of battles that ended in a decisive Union victory and emancipation for slaves in Missouri.</p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 20:20:46 +0000 Cody Newill 57514 at http://kcur.org Then And Now: A Look Back At The Battle Of Westport The Battle Of Westport 150 Years Later http://kcur.org/post/battle-westport-150-years-later <p></p><p>In October of 1864, Kansas City played host to a dramatic clash of Union and Confederate forces. Thousands of troops squared off along Brush Creek and Blue River in the <b>Battle of Westport</b>, the largest Civil War battle west of the Mississippi River. On Thursday's <a href="http://www.kcur.org/programs/date" target="_blank"><i>Up to Date</i></a>&nbsp;Steve Kraske talks with preservationist Daniel Smith about the legacy of the "Gettysburg of the West."</p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Scott Ross 57533 at http://kcur.org The Battle Of Westport 150 Years Later Jeff Shaara Is Back With Third Civil War Novel http://kcur.org/post/jeff-shaara-back-third-civil-war-novel <p></p> Tue, 17 Jun 2014 14:00:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Scott Ross 57415 at http://kcur.org Jeff Shaara Is Back With Third Civil War Novel Past Bleeding Into Present: Quantrill's Raid http://kcur.org/post/past-bleeding-present-quantrills-raid <p>Bleeding Kansas wasn’t just a figurative term, and if you need proof, just look at Quantrill’s Raid on Lawrence.</p><p>On Wednesday's <em><a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date">Up to Date</a></em>, we examine the circumstances that led to the famous massacre, from the 1861 sacking of Osceola in slave-state Missouri to other rising violence of the Civil War with guests Jonathan Earle and Diane Mutti Burke, who edited <em>Bleeding Kansas, Bleeding Missouri: The Long Civil War on the Border</em>.</p><p><strong style="line-height: 1.5;">Guests:</strong></p> Tue, 20 Aug 2013 21:00:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 42258 at http://kcur.org Past Bleeding Into Present: Quantrill's Raid Steve's Bookshelf: Fighting Outlaws, Wars & A Mysterious Disease http://kcur.org/post/steves-bookshelf-fighting-outlaws-wars-mysterious-disease <p>Pull off a bank job in the Wild West with Jesse James, join Ulysses S. Grant as he leads Union troops into the entrenched Confederate stronghold of Vicksburg and solve the puzzle of a woman's month of madness.</p><p>On Wednesday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, we talk with the authors of the latest titles on&nbsp;Steve’s Bookshelf:</p> Tue, 13 Aug 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 41880 at http://kcur.org Steve's Bookshelf: Fighting Outlaws, Wars & A Mysterious Disease Looking Back At Gettysburg http://kcur.org/post/looking-back-gettysburg <div>It’s been 150 years since the muskets fired and men in both blue and gray fell to the ground at battleground in Pennsylvania. Mon, 24 Jun 2013 14:52:30 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 38930 at http://kcur.org Looking Back At Gettysburg Guerrilla Warfare During The Civil War http://kcur.org/post/guerrilla-warfare-during-civil-war <p>When the Confederate Army was pushed from Missouri,&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">a slave state that hadn't&nbsp;ceded from the Union,</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;in late 1861 ordinary&nbsp;people transformed themselves into guerilla fighters for the confederate cause. &nbsp;A mayor's son and town teacher were among those who found themselves part of one of the most violent band of guerilla fighters lead by "Bloody" Bill Anderson. &nbsp;After the war they became notable bank and train robbers. Fri, 07 Jun 2013 14:38:43 +0000 Matthew Long-Middleton & Ross Stinemetz 38101 at http://kcur.org Guerrilla Warfare During The Civil War History & Tourism Around The State Line http://kcur.org/post/history-tourism-around-state-line <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Go to enough<strong> Kansas and Missouri historical spots</strong>, and you'll find many of them are <strong>steeped in the history of the Civil War</strong>.</span></p><p> Tue, 23 Apr 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 35555 at http://kcur.org History & Tourism Around The State Line Lincoln's Struggle For A United Front http://kcur.org/post/lincolns-struggle-united-front <p>In 1862, <strong>Abraham Lincoln </strong>glued together pieces of a fractured nation to support his cause against all odds. But how did he do it?</p><p> Wed, 31 Oct 2012 03:59:57 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 26806 at http://kcur.org Lincoln's Struggle For A United Front Jeff Shaara: 'A Blaze Of Glory' http://kcur.org/post/jeff-shaara-blaze-glory <p>Shiloh stands as <strong>one of the bloodiest clashes in American history</strong>, one sealed the fate of the Civil War and cemented the long, drawn out conflict that followed the 1862 battle. Thu, 14 Jun 2012 14:18:23 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 19360 at http://kcur.org Jeff Shaara: 'A Blaze Of Glory' The U.S. Capitol & The Coming Of The Civil War http://kcur.org/post/us-capitol-coming-civil-war <p>The <strong>construction of the U.S. Capitol</strong> began with a building plan adopted in 1793.&nbsp; Its history of being built, burnt, rebuilt &amp; extended meant its completion came at the most crucial point in our nation&rsquo;s development: <strong>the Civil War.</strong> Wed, 21 Mar 2012 23:00:00 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 14620 at http://kcur.org The U.S. Capitol & The Coming Of The Civil War KC History: Small-Scale Slavery In Missouri http://kcur.org/post/kc-history-small-scale-slavery-missouri <p>On Friday&#39;s <em><a href="http://kcur.org/programs/waltbodineshow"><strong>Walt Bodine Show</strong></a>, </em>co-host <strong>Monroe Dodd </strong>discusses the history of small-scale slavery in Missouri with <a href="http://cas.umkc.edu/wgs/faculty-staff/profiles/mutti-burke.shtml"><strong>Diane Mutti Burke</strong></a>.</p><p> Fri, 17 Feb 2012 17:53:41 +0000 Andrea Silenzi 12702 at http://kcur.org KC History: Small-Scale Slavery In Missouri