birth control http://kcur.org en Hobby Lobby Ruling A Win For Kansas City Construction Company http://kcur.org/post/hobby-lobby-ruling-win-kansas-city-construction-company <p>A construction company based in Kansas City, Mo., plans to limit the contraceptive coverage it offers employees in the wake of Monday's <a href="http://kcur.org/post/some-companies-can-refuse-cover-contraception-supreme-court-says">Hobby Lobby Supreme Court ruling</a>.</p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 20:55:37 +0000 Elle Moxley 58174 at http://kcur.org Hobby Lobby Ruling A Win For Kansas City Construction Company Missouri Attorney General Won't Appeal Contraceptives Ruling http://kcur.org/post/missouri-attorney-general-wont-appeal-contraceptives-ruling <p>Despite the urging of a top state lawmaker and some Catholic groups, Missouri’s Attorney General will not appeal a recent court ruling, which struck down a state law that would have required insurance companies to exclude birth control coverage if employers had religious, ethical or moral objections.</p><p><strong>State And Federal Rule Conflict</strong></p> Thu, 11 Apr 2013 23:16:55 +0000 Elana Gordon 34960 at http://kcur.org Missouri Attorney General Won't Appeal Contraceptives Ruling Judge Strikes Down Mo. Law Challenging Contraceptive Mandate http://kcur.org/post/judge-strikes-down-mo-law-challenging-contraceptive-mandate <p>A federal judge has struck down a Missouri law that directly challenges the so-called contraceptive mandate under the federal health law. The result of the judge’s actions mean Missouri health plans have to include no-cost options for contraceptives. Mon, 18 Mar 2013 20:10:34 +0000 Elana Gordon 33664 at http://kcur.org Judge Strikes Down Mo. Law Challenging Contraceptive Mandate Area Businesses Challenge Federal Birth Control Mandate http://kcur.org/post/area-businesses-challenge-federal-birth-control-mandate <p>A federal court is scheduled today, to take up one Missouri business’ challenge to a <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/2012/08/02/157674061/under-health-law-no-cost-birth-control-starts-today">recently enacted provision</a> of the federal health law. The provision requires that most employee-health plans include no-cost coverage of contraceptives, but the rule has faced backlash from several businesses and lawmakers around the region. Mon, 14 Jan 2013 17:38:54 +0000 Elana Gordon 30368 at http://kcur.org Area Businesses Challenge Federal Birth Control Mandate Residents Raise Money For Contraceptives After County Votes Down Funding http://kcur.org/post/residents-raise-money-contraceptives-after-county-votes-down-funding <p>In response to leaders of Miami County voting against drawing down federal funds for a program that has long provided birth control to low income families, a group of area residents has raised the money.</p><p> Mon, 09 Apr 2012 01:27:18 +0000 Elana Gordon 15653 at http://kcur.org Hundreds Rally At Missouri Capitol, Contraception Bill Moves Forward In Senate http://kcur.org/post/hundreds-rally-missouri-capitol-contraception-bill-moves-forward-senate <p>Two rallies in Jefferson City today each called for the repeal of the 2010 Affordable Care Act and for employers to have the right to not provide coverage for birth control.&nbsp;</p><p> Tue, 27 Mar 2012 23:36:25 +0000 Marshall Griffin 14975 at http://kcur.org Top Of The Morning News: Wednesday, February 15, 2012 http://kcur.org/post/top-morning-news-wednesday-february-15-2012 <p>A daily digest of headlines from KCUR.<br /> • Bill To Block Birth Control Coverage Moves Ahead<br /> • Missouri’s High Court Rules Against Ethics Law<br /> • Democrats Present School Funding Plan to Kansas Board Of Education<br /> • Lawyers At Odds Over Bill to Allow Some Illegal Immigrants to Work in Kansas</p> Wed, 15 Feb 2012 14:18:28 +0000 Maria Carter 12567 at http://kcur.org Birth Control Restriction Bill Passes Out Of Senate Committee http://kcur.org/post/birth-control-restriction-bill-passes-out-senate-committee <p>A State Senate committee has passed legislation that would allow employers in Missouri to refuse insurance coverage for birth control, abortions and sterilizations &ndash; that is, if providing coverage for those services would violate the employer&rsquo;s religious beliefs. Tue, 14 Feb 2012 23:15:12 +0000 Marshall Griffin 12543 at http://kcur.org Birth Control Restriction Bill Passes Out Of Senate Committee