fiction http://kcur.org en The Book Doctors: Adventure Tales http://kcur.org/post/book-doctors-adventure-tales <p>Follow the adventures of a boy as he swaps toys for grown-up pursuits and childhood tales of Lenin for the American Dream. And if you like a little adventure, join a pizza hotline operator as he tries to figure out how to deal with a time traveler.</p><p>On Monday's <a href="http://kcur.org/progams.date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, the Book Doctors return to share these tales and more as they tell us about the books that have been keeping them warm this winter.</p><p><strong><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Guests:</span></strong></p> Mon, 10 Mar 2014 17:26:04 +0000 Steve Kraske & Beth Lipoff 52388 at http://kcur.org The Book Doctors: Adventure Tales Kansas City's Dark Secrets http://kcur.org/post/kansas-citys-dark-secrets <p>The dark streets of Kansas City hold many secrets.</p> <p>As Steve Paul writes in the introduction to a new book, Kansas City Noir, this is also a city that's home to its share of serial killers and moral turpitude, and it's a place where police detective ply their trade.</p> Tue, 02 Oct 2012 14:59:37 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 25391 at http://kcur.org Kansas City's Dark Secrets ReShonda Tate Billingsley: The Secret She Kept http://kcur.org/post/reshonda-tate-billingsley-secret-she-kept <p>Tia Giles is pregnant, she&rsquo;s also suffering from a mental illness and her husband Lance must make the difficult decision of committing her to a mental institution to save the baby, his wife and their marriage.</p><p> Wed, 11 Jul 2012 15:32:08 +0000 Andrea Silenzi & Jabulani Leffall 20834 at http://kcur.org ReShonda Tate Billingsley: The Secret She Kept John Grisham On Wrongful Conviction & 'Calico Joe' http://kcur.org/post/john-grisham-wrongful-conviction-calico-joe <p>Novelist John Grisham has churned out a novel a year since 1988.</p> <p>But believe it or not, he still has his moments of doubt. Yes, the same John Grisham who has written mega-bestsellers that became smash movies still questions his ability to write.</p> Mon, 23 Apr 2012 17:06:51 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 16382 at http://kcur.org John Grisham On Wrongful Conviction & 'Calico Joe' Becoming American In Missouri http://kcur.org/post/becoming-american-missouri <p>In 2003 he left his life working as an attorney in London and Paris and moved to the much smaller community of Columbia, Missouri. Last week, he made it official. <strong>Alex George</strong> is a U.S. citizen. Wed, 22 Feb 2012 23:23:52 +0000 Stephen Steigman, Steve Kraske & Kathleen Pointer 12998 at http://kcur.org Becoming American In Missouri Point, Click, Love http://kcur.org/post/point-click-love <p>"Love at first byte," some might say. In the world of online dating, people can find a match they might not otherwise find within their community of friends and acquaintances. But they also might find the process to be tedious, horrific and downright disappointing.</p> Mon, 06 Feb 2012 19:46:34 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 11983 at http://kcur.org Point, Click, Love