Kansas History http://kcur.org en Kansas Agency Encourages A New Black Friday Tradition http://kcur.org/post/kansas-agency-encourages-new-black-friday-tradition <p>A Kansas agency is urging black families talk to sit down and interview their family members on Friday. The Kansas African American Affairs Commission is calling the oral history project called “<a href="http://www.kaaac.ks.gov/ks-black-history/a-new-black-friday-project-2013">New Black Friday</a>.”</p> Fri, 29 Nov 2013 13:46:15 +0000 Maria Carter 47437 at http://kcur.org Pioneers' Hardship In Eastern Kansas http://kcur.org/post/pioneers-hardship-eastern-kansas <p></p> Thu, 05 Sep 2013 22:21:58 +0000 Matthew Long-Middleton & Sydney Llewellyn 43112 at http://kcur.org Pioneers' Hardship In Eastern Kansas History & Tourism Around The State Line http://kcur.org/post/history-tourism-around-state-line <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Go to enough<strong> Kansas and Missouri historical spots</strong>, and you'll find many of them are <strong>steeped in the history of the Civil War</strong>.</span></p><p> Tue, 23 Apr 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 35555 at http://kcur.org History & Tourism Around The State Line KU Prof Explores Black Israelite Roots In Kansas http://kcur.org/post/ku-prof-explores-black-israelite-roots-kansas <p>Blacks and Jews have historically had a complicated relationship in the United States.&nbsp; And it’s perhaps the most evident when they claim the same religion, or historical ancestry. The development of Black Israelite or Black Jewish faith has its roots in Kansas, according to the book <em>The Chosen People: The Rise of American Black Israelite Religions</em> by University of Kansas history and American studies professor, <a href="http://news.ku.edu/2013/01/31/book-explores-race-identity-ancient-israelites" target="_blank">Jacob Dorman. </a></p> Thu, 11 Apr 2013 20:27:18 +0000 Susan B. Wilson & Monica Sandreczki 34744 at http://kcur.org KU Prof Explores Black Israelite Roots In Kansas Truman Capote's Take On True Crime http://kcur.org/post/truman-capotes-take-true-crime <p><strong>Truman Capote's book, "In Cold Blood"</strong> showcased a <strong>quadruple murder</strong> case in <strong>southwestern Kansas</strong>, becoming one of the most famous <strong>true crime</strong> books ever. Sun, 11 Nov 2012 16:24:00 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 27355 at http://kcur.org Truman Capote's Take On True Crime Kansas Myths & Mysteries http://kcur.org/post/kansas-myths-mysteries <p>A family of serial killers who were never caught...a fortune left buried along the banks of a creek by the Dalton gang...and orphans shipped from New York for a &ldquo;good&rdquo; life on the prairie.</p><p> Mon, 11 Jun 2012 22:46:38 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 19207 at http://kcur.org Kansas Myths & Mysteries Revising History: Native American Missions In Kansas http://kcur.org/post/revising-history-native-american-missions-kansas <p>Sitting on the Old Santa Fe Trail, the town of <strong>Shawnee Mission</strong> was originally that: a mission for members of the Shawnee tribe who were transplanted from their native territory.</p><p> Mon, 07 May 2012 19:12:01 +0000 Susan B. Wilson 17239 at http://kcur.org Revising History: Native American Missions In Kansas