Emilie Mutert http://kcur.org en Bond Bridge Reopens, Crews Stop Search For Jumpers http://kcur.org/post/bond-bridge-reopens-crews-stop-search-jumpers <p>Emergency workers reportedly began searching the Missouri River late Thursday morning after two or possibly three people were seen jumping from the Bond Bridge.</p><p><strong>Update 1:32 p.m</strong>. KCUR's Dan Verbeck reports that the abandoned pickup found on the bridge has been towed. Rescue boats have been removed from the scene, and no rescue was performed. The focus for now will turn to identifying the truck's owners.</p> Thu, 21 Mar 2013 17:56:57 +0000 Emilie Mutert & Dan Verbeck 33835 at http://kcur.org Bond Bridge Reopens, Crews Stop Search For Jumpers Elections Still On: Hours Extended, Polling Places Changed http://kcur.org/post/elections-still-hours-extended-polling-places-changed <p><strong>Update Tuesday, 7:30 a.m. </strong>Due to the weather, polling places have been consolidated in both Wyandotte and Johnson Counties. Find polling places for <a href="http://www.wycokck.org/uploadedFiles/Departments/Election_Office/Election_-_Documents/WyCo_Primary_Election-Update_2013.pdf" target="_blank">Wyandotte&nbsp;County here</a> and <a href="http://www.jocoelection.org/" target="_blank">Johnson County here</a>.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 26 Feb 2013 13:56:42 +0000 Emilie Mutert & Sylvia Maria Gross 32531 at http://kcur.org Elections Still On: Hours Extended, Polling Places Changed More Snow, Whiteout Conditions Expected Monday Night http://kcur.org/post/more-snow-whiteout-conditions-expected-monday-night <p>Some areas were reporting light snow and ice in the early hours of Monday evening. The storm is expected to continue through Tuesday afternoon.</p> Tue, 26 Feb 2013 04:51:30 +0000 Emilie Mutert 32483 at http://kcur.org More Snow, Whiteout Conditions Expected Monday Night Major Winter Storm Hits KC Area With Up To 12 Inches Snow http://kcur.org/post/major-winter-storm-hits-kc-area-12-inches-snow <p><strong>Update Thursday 5:00 p.m. </strong>KCI&nbsp;remains closed, but officials report that first flights in and out are expected for 7 a.m. Friday. However, they are working to reopen the airport this evening.</p> Thu, 21 Feb 2013 23:09:32 +0000 Dan Verbeck & Emilie Mutert 32228 at http://kcur.org Major Winter Storm Hits KC Area With Up To 12 Inches Snow After The Fire: An Interview With JJ's Co-Owner David Frantze http://kcur.org/post/after-fire-interview-jjs-co-owner-david-frantze <p><em>Up To Date</em>'s Steve Kraske talked Wednesday morning with David Frantze, co-owner of JJ's restaurant. A gas explosion Tuesday evening caused a fire that destroyed the restaurant, killing at least one person and injuring at least 14 others.</p><p>Here are some excerpts from the interview:</p><p>David Frantze: Steve, it’s been a pretty rough time for the entire JJ’s family.</p> Wed, 20 Feb 2013 18:00:45 +0000 Elana Gordon & Emilie Mutert & Up To Date 32266 at http://kcur.org After The Fire: An Interview With JJ's Co-Owner David Frantze Fire Hits Plaza Business http://kcur.org/post/fire-hits-plaza-business <p>A fire caused by an apparent gas explosion near JJ's Restaurant on the Country Club Plaza has sent at least 14 people to area hospitals with injuries, some of them critical. The fire started around 6:00 Tuesday evening.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>Update 7:07 PM.&nbsp; Residents from a nearby apartment building were evacuated.&nbsp; Some are reporting that there was a strong smell of gas earlier in the afternoon. One resident of the nearby building also told reporters someone was operating a backhoe in the area earlier in the afternoon.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 20 Feb 2013 01:05:39 +0000 Frank Morris, Steve Bell, Elana Gordon & Emilie Mutert 32230 at http://kcur.org Fire Hits Plaza Business Cold Air Hits KC, Snow Possible Tuesday Night http://kcur.org/post/cold-air-hits-kc-snow-possible-tuesday-night <p>The Kansas City area is under a winter weather advisory beginning Tuesday night, with cold air moving in and storms, and even snow, expected to last through Wednesday morning.</p><p>The metro area saw springlike highs in the 70s Monday, but the temperature dropped rapidly Tuesday morning as cool gusts of wind and rain moved in.</p> Tue, 29 Jan 2013 17:31:55 +0000 Emilie Mutert 31112 at http://kcur.org Cold Air Hits KC, Snow Possible Tuesday Night Snow To Continue Through Tuesday Morning http://kcur.org/post/snow-continue-through-tuesday-morning <p>A winter weather advisory is in effect for the Kansas City area until 6 a.m. Tuesday.</p><p> Mon, 31 Dec 2012 18:06:34 +0000 Emilie Mutert 29746 at http://kcur.org Snow To Continue Through Tuesday Morning School Closings, Road Info: The First Winter Storm Of The Season http://kcur.org/post/school-closings-road-info-first-winter-storm-season <p>The Kansas City metro area experienced its first winter storm overnight Wednesday. Strong winds contributed to whiteout conditions for the morning rush hour. Dozens of <strong><a href="http://www.kmbc.com/weather/closings/-/11665728/-/format/rsss_2.0/-/d7n91l/-/index.html">schools are closed Thursday</a></strong> including Blue Valley, Kansas City, Kan., Kansas City Public Schools, Lawrence, and Shawnee Mission.</p><p> Wed, 19 Dec 2012 17:40:51 +0000 Emilie Mutert & Laura Spencer 29215 at http://kcur.org School Closings, Road Info: The First Winter Storm Of The Season After Conn. Shooting, Some Police Step Up Presence Near Schools http://kcur.org/post/after-conn-shooting-some-police-step-presence-near-schools <p>Though the <a href="http://kcur.org/post/developing-shooting-elementary-school-newtown-conn">tragic shooting Friday</a> at a Connecticut elementary school occurred far from the Kansas City area, Overland Park police still stepped up its presence nearby local schools.</p><p> Fri, 14 Dec 2012 22:11:05 +0000 Laura Ziegler, Emilie Mutert, Dan Verbeck & Steve Bell 29044 at http://kcur.org After Conn. Shooting, Some Police Step Up Presence Near Schools State Withholds $2 Million Payment For New DMV System http://kcur.org/post/state-withholds-2-million-payment-new-dmv-system <p>The state of Kansas is withholding its final $2 million payment to 3M Co. for the new Department of Motor Vehicles computer system that caused massive delays, <a href="http://www.kansascity.com/2012/11/12/3912856/kansas-withholding-overdue-last.html" target="_blank">reports</a> the <em>Kansas City Star</em> via the Associated Press.</p><p> Mon, 12 Nov 2012 23:15:50 +0000 Emilie Mutert 27467 at http://kcur.org State Withholds $2 Million Payment For New DMV System Missouri Voters Pass Proposition E http://kcur.org/post/missouri-voters-pass-proposition-e <p>Almost sixty-two percent of Missouri ballots were cast in favor of <a href="http://kcur.org/post/health-exchange-heart-missouri-s-proposition-e?nopop=1">Proposition E</a> Tuesday night.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 14:16:41 +0000 Emilie Mutert 27223 at http://kcur.org Missouri Voters Pass Proposition E Watch: President Obama's Victory Speech http://kcur.org/post/watch-president-obamas-victory-speech <p>Here watch the video of President Obama's victory speech, delivered to roaring crowds very early Wednesday morning in Chicago.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 07:15:59 +0000 Emilie Mutert 27189 at http://kcur.org Watch: President Obama's Victory Speech Live Election Coverage From KCUR http://kcur.org/post/live-election-coverage-kcur <p><span id="internal-source-marker_0.42131432081116404" style="font-size:15px;font-family:Arial;color:#000000;background-color:transparent;font-weight:normal;font-style:normal;font-variant:normal;text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;">KCUR has live election coverage starting at 7 p.m. tonight. </span><span style="font-size:15px;font-family:Arial;color:#000000;background-color:transparent;font-weight:normal;font-style:normal;font-variant:normal;text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;">Tune in to 89.3 FM or follow along online. </span></p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 00:03:15 +0000 Emilie Mutert 27180 at http://kcur.org Live Election Coverage From KCUR Variable Wait Times, Some ID Confusion At Polls http://kcur.org/post/variable-wait-times-some-id-confusion-polls <p>Voters from Paola to Belton experienced many short or quick-moving lines Tuesday morning at polling places.</p><p> Tue, 06 Nov 2012 18:44:58 +0000 Emilie Mutert 27156 at http://kcur.org Variable Wait Times, Some ID Confusion At Polls Offices Evacuated In Downtown KC After Suspected Bomb Threat http://kcur.org/post/offices-evacuated-downtown-kc-after-suspected-bomb-threat <p>A bomb-sniffing dog reportedly detected some type of explosives in the car of a man who walked into a Kansas City state building Friday questioning whether or not his name was on the terrorist watch list.</p><p> Fri, 14 Sep 2012 18:35:17 +0000 Emilie Mutert 24508 at http://kcur.org Offices Evacuated In Downtown KC After Suspected Bomb Threat Missouri Executions On Hold For Pending Inmate Lawsuit http://kcur.org/post/missouri-executions-hold-pending-inmate-lawsuit <p>Missouri won’t be executing any prisoners until a&nbsp;<a href="http://www.scribd.com/doc/98577394/21-Death-Row-Inmates-File-Suit-Over-New-Lethal-Injection-Drug" target="_blank">Propofol-related complaint</a>&nbsp;from 21 condemned inmates is settled in Federal Court, according to a ruling issued Tuesday by the Missouri Supreme Court.</p><p> Fri, 17 Aug 2012 16:06:58 +0000 Emilie Mutert 23122 at http://kcur.org Missouri Executions On Hold For Pending Inmate Lawsuit 'Right To Pray' Amendment Prompts ACLU Lawsuit http://kcur.org/post/right-pray-amendment-prompts-aclu-lawsuit <p>Missouri&#39;s Amendment 2, which reiterates the rights of individuals to pray in public and in schools and was passed by 83 percent in Tuesday&#39;s elections, now faces opposition from a lawsuit filed Wednesday by the American Civil Liberties Union. Fri, 10 Aug 2012 17:25:48 +0000 Emilie Mutert 22559 at http://kcur.org 'Right To Pray' Amendment Prompts ACLU Lawsuit Google Reveals Fiber Project Details In Kansas City http://kcur.org/post/google-reveals-fiber-project-details-kansas-city <p>Update 11:51 a.m.: Thursday kicked off a Google Fiber six-week rally during which residents of Kansas City, Kan. and central Kansas City, Mo., can demonstrate their desire to bring the service to their neighborhoods, or &quot;<a href="http://fiber.google.com/cities/kck/#header=check" target="_blank">fiberhoods</a>,&quot; as Google has named them. Thu, 26 Jul 2012 14:32:29 +0000 Emilie Mutert 21673 at http://kcur.org Google Reveals Fiber Project Details In Kansas City Google Fiber Announces 'Save The Date' http://kcur.org/post/google-fiber-announces-save-date <p>Google Fiber&#39;s website <a href="http://fiber.google.com/savethedate" target="_blank">revealed Wednesday</a> that the project will launch in Kansas City on July 26. The short message also says that there will be an announcement on the 26th, and interested parties can sign up <a href="http://fiber.google.com/savethedate" target="_blank">here</a> to receive it via email. Wed, 18 Jul 2012 15:33:15 +0000 Emilie Mutert 21225 at http://kcur.org Google Fiber Announces 'Save The Date' Governors To Visit Drought-Stricken Regions http://kcur.org/post/governors-visit-drought-stricken-regions <p>Both Missouri Governor Jay Nixon and Kansas Governor Sam Brownback embark on tours today of their states' most drought-affected regions. The USDA declared 82 Kansas counties federal disaster areas, while the entire state of Missouri — all 114 counties — meets disaster qualifications, based on losses of at least 30 percent of the estimated crop yield.</p> Tue, 17 Jul 2012 14:17:11 +0000 Emilie Mutert 21155 at http://kcur.org Governors To Visit Drought-Stricken Regions Don't Let The Heat Get You Down http://kcur.org/post/dont-let-heat-get-you-down <p>The forecast this weekend calls for at least 100-degree heat Friday, Saturday and Sunday, and the high temperatures are supposed to stick around for several weeks after that. Fri, 29 Jun 2012 14:00:00 +0000 Emilie Mutert 20270 at http://kcur.org Don't Let The Heat Get You Down Horse Slaughter Faces Congressional Opposition http://kcur.org/post/horse-slaughter-faces-congressional-opposition <p>Plans to open a horse slaughterhouse in Rockville, Mo. could be stymied if an amendment passed Wednesday by the House Appropriations Committee makes its way through the Senate.</p><p> Wed, 20 Jun 2012 16:36:52 +0000 Emilie Mutert 19713 at http://kcur.org Horse Slaughter Faces Congressional Opposition Kansas City Launches Text Alert Service http://kcur.org/post/kansas-city-launches-text-alert-service <p>Monday marked the launch of the City of Kansas City, Mo.&#39;s new community notification service. Called Nixle, the service will provide neighborhood-specific information down to the 1/4-mile via emails and text messages.</p><p> Mon, 18 Jun 2012 15:45:55 +0000 Emilie Mutert 19568 at http://kcur.org Kansas City Launches Text Alert Service Child Obesity Linked To Poor Math Performance http://kcur.org/post/child-obesity-linked-poor-math-performance <p>Researchers at the University of Missouri found a link between childhood obesity and poor math performance. The study, released Thursday in the journal <a href="http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1467-8624.2012.01803.x/abstract" target="_blank"><em>Child Development</em></a>, monitored 6,250 children from the time they were in kindergarten until fifth grade.</p><p> Fri, 15 Jun 2012 16:01:40 +0000 Emilie Mutert 19439 at http://kcur.org Child Obesity Linked To Poor Math Performance Kansas National Guardsmen To Battle Colorado Wildfire http://kcur.org/post/kansas-national-guardsmen-battle-colorado-wildfire <p>A helicopter from the Kansas National Guard&#39;s Black Hawk unit headed to Colorado this afternoon to help battle the wildfire that has consumed more than 64 square miles outside of Fort Collins.</p><p> Tue, 12 Jun 2012 18:07:07 +0000 Dan Verbeck & Emilie Mutert 19254 at http://kcur.org Kansas National Guardsmen To Battle Colorado Wildfire Horse Slaughterhouse To Open In Western Missouri? http://kcur.org/post/horse-slaughterhouse-open-western-missouri <p>A Wyoming company announced that it will reopen a closed meat processing plant in western Missouri for horse slaughter and horse meat processing.</p><p> Fri, 08 Jun 2012 17:04:34 +0000 Emilie Mutert 19074 at http://kcur.org Horse Slaughterhouse To Open In Western Missouri? Kemper Museum Hires New Director http://kcur.org/post/kemper-museum-hires-new-director <p>The Kemper Museum of Contemporary Art has appointed a new museum director: Current chief curator and director of exhibitions and collections Barbara O&#39;Brien.</p><p> Thu, 07 Jun 2012 15:50:35 +0000 Emilie Mutert 18994 at http://kcur.org Kemper Museum Hires New Director New Google Fiber Hardware Possibly En Route To Kansas City http://kcur.org/post/new-google-fiber-hardware-possibly-en-route-kansas-city <p>An IP set-top box with a Google Fiber label was recently added to the FCC database, <a href="http://www.engadget.com/2012/06/05/google-fiber-gfhd100-ip-set-top-box-fcc/" target="_blank">Engadget reports</a>. The label suggests the device is part of the Google Fiber project in development for Kansas City, Kan. and Kansas City, Mo.</p><p> Tue, 05 Jun 2012 13:52:15 +0000 Emilie Mutert 18837 at http://kcur.org New Google Fiber Hardware Possibly En Route To Kansas City Missouri To Use Michael Jackson's Overdose Drug For Executions http://kcur.org/post/missouri-use-michael-jacksons-overdose-drug-executions <p>The Missouri Department of Corrections announced that it will switch from three-drug lethal injection cocktails to a single drug: <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Propofol" target="_blank">Propofol</a>, which many will recognize as the anesthetic that caused Michael Jackson&#39;s death.</p><p> Wed, 30 May 2012 17:09:41 +0000 Emilie Mutert 18524 at http://kcur.org Missouri To Use Michael Jackson's Overdose Drug For Executions