Jabulani Leffall http://kcur.org en Captive Audience: The Telecom Industry http://kcur.org/post/captive-audience-telecom-industry <p>Ten years ago, <strong>the United States stood at the forefront of the Internet revolution.</strong> With some of the fastest speeds and lowest prices in the world for high-speed Internet access, the nation was poised to be the global leader in the new knowledge-based economy.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 16 Jan 2013 22:00:00 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 30553 at http://kcur.org Captive Audience: The Telecom Industry Surviving The College Application Process http://kcur.org/post/surviving-college-application-process <p>Most of the time, the long and winding road of choosing a college is forgotten in the subsequent years of hazy academic exploits.&nbsp; But for most high school seniors, this time of year is an involved process that can lead to anxious days and sleepless nights.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 15 Jan 2013 20:29:14 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 30401 at http://kcur.org Surviving The College Application Process Crime & Safety In The Urban Core http://kcur.org/post/crime-safety-urban-core <p>In 2008, elected officials and urban residents came together under the direction of 2nd District Jackson County Legislator, Bishop James Tindall, Sr. to discuss community change in the urban core.&nbsp; This was the first convening of the <a href="http://kcurbansummit.com/" target="_blank">Kansas City Urban Summit</a>.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 10 Jan 2013 22:36:16 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 30184 at http://kcur.org Crime & Safety In The Urban Core Animal Shelters Of Kansas City http://kcur.org/post/animal-shelters-kansas-city <p>Local shelters are seeing a record number of animals coming into their facilities each day.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 09 Jan 2013 21:11:50 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 30120 at http://kcur.org Animal Shelters Of Kansas City Hypnotism http://kcur.org/post/hypnotism <p>What do Franz Mesmer, James Braid, and The Professor from <em>Gilligan's Island</em> have in common?</p><p></p><p> Tue, 08 Jan 2013 00:00:00 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 30053 at http://kcur.org Hypnotism Stretching Your Palate http://kcur.org/post/stretching-your-palate <p>Chances are you have eaten at his restaurant, taken in a show at his venue, or even met the dude.&nbsp; But did you know about his plan to curb regional invasive species by cooking and eating them?</p><p></p><p> Tue, 08 Jan 2013 00:00:00 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 30060 at http://kcur.org Stretching Your Palate Transformation In The New Year http://kcur.org/post/transformation-new-year <p>With each new year, comes the inevitable setting of lofty personal improvement goals.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 07 Jan 2013 19:55:01 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 30047 at http://kcur.org Transformation In The New Year Corner To Corner Pt. II - The Northeast http://kcur.org/post/corner-corner-pt-ii-northeast <p>Getting to know Kansas City, one neighborhood at a time.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 03 Jan 2013 19:35:24 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 29860 at http://kcur.org Corner To Corner Pt. II - The Northeast Corner To Corner Pt. I - The Plaza http://kcur.org/post/corner-corner-pt-i-plaza <p>Getting to know Kansas City, one neighborhood at a time.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 02 Jan 2013 22:16:05 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 29856 at http://kcur.org Corner To Corner Pt. I - The Plaza Panther Baby: A Life Of Rebellion And Reinvention http://kcur.org/post/panther-baby-life-rebellion-and-reinvention <p><strong>*** This is an extended encore presentation of a show originally aired October 1st, 2012 ***</strong></p><p>They warned him, “Once you get in, there’s no getting out.”</p><p>Journey with us on Monday’s <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/central-standard" target="_blank"><em>Central Standard</em></a> for a discussion with former Black Panther <a href="http://arts.columbia.edu/film/jamal-joseph" target="_blank"><strong>Jamal Joseph.</strong></a> We're stepping back in time to the late 1960s and early 1970s, and looking through the eyes of one of the youngest Black Power leaders in New York. Mon, 31 Dec 2012 18:53:48 +0000 Tomeka Weatherspoon, Jabulani Leffall & Matthew Long-Middleton 25261 at http://kcur.org Panther Baby: A Life Of Rebellion And Reinvention Underreported Stories Of 2012 http://kcur.org/post/underreported-stories-2012 <p>A peek inside the newsroom of KCUR and Harvest Public Media.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 28 Dec 2012 21:13:49 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 29619 at http://kcur.org Underreported Stories Of 2012 Miles Bonny http://kcur.org/post/miles-bonny-0 <p><strong>Central Standard's</strong> music curator stops by the studio to say goodbye.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 27 Dec 2012 21:05:29 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 29608 at http://kcur.org Miles Bonny Holiday Fish Fry http://kcur.org/post/holiday-fish-fry <p>Roll back your Christmas rug for an abbreviated holiday public radio party. Thu, 27 Dec 2012 18:48:23 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 29600 at http://kcur.org Holiday Fish Fry A Christmas Carol http://kcur.org/post/christmas-carol <p>The annual holiday production of Dickens' classic returns to the KC Rep. Thu, 27 Dec 2012 18:05:30 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 29565 at http://kcur.org A Christmas Carol The State Of Mental Illness In KC http://kcur.org/post/state-mental-illness-kc <p>Mental illness is a problem in every community, but <strong>what resources and services are available in Kansas City?</strong></p><p></p><p> Thu, 20 Dec 2012 22:33:53 +0000 Matthew Long-Middleton & Jabulani Leffall & Claire McInerny 29338 at http://kcur.org The State Of Mental Illness In KC Green Impact Zone & The Missouri River http://kcur.org/post/green-impact-zone-missouri-river <p>You probably know that the Missouri River is the longest river in North America.&nbsp; But did you know that it's also one of the most polluted?</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 19 Dec 2012 00:00:00 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 29230 at http://kcur.org Green Impact Zone & The Missouri River The New American City Part II http://kcur.org/post/new-american-city-part-ii <p>The year 2012 is drawing to a close.&nbsp; Weren't we all supposed to be driving hover cars by now?</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 18 Dec 2012 00:00:00 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 29153 at http://kcur.org The New American City Part II Computer Guys: Apps & Tablets http://kcur.org/post/computer-guys-apps-tablets <p>It is expected that there will be 68.5 million more tablets in this world by the end of this year, providing roughly <a href="http://www.ce.org/News/News-Releases/Press-Releases/2012-Press-Releases/CE-Industry-Yearly-Revenues-Expected-to-Surpass-$2.aspx">$29.1 billion in sales</a>.&nbsp; Mon, 17 Dec 2012 00:50:43 +0000 Matthew Long-Middleton & Jabulani Leffall 29117 at http://kcur.org Computer Guys: Apps & Tablets Buying Local? http://kcur.org/post/buying-local <p>If you don't think regional commerce has become en vogue, just type "buy local day" into your Google machine and see how many results come up.</p><p> Thu, 13 Dec 2012 00:00:00 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 28922 at http://kcur.org Buying Local? David Wayne Reed http://kcur.org/post/david-wayne-reed <p>What happens to a young man who spends his childhood off the grid,&nbsp; growing up in a rural area with no formal creative outlets?</p><p></p><p> Wed, 12 Dec 2012 00:05:29 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Jeffrey Harvey & Matthew Long-Middleton 28872 at http://kcur.org David Wayne Reed Inlaws & Outlaws http://kcur.org/post/inlaws-outlaws <p>A long-haired rock n' roll combo from Liverpool once mused that "All You Need Is Love."&nbsp; If this is true, then the food, housing, and clothing industries may be in trouble.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 23:44:38 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Jeffrey Harvey & Matthew Long-Middleton 28870 at http://kcur.org Inlaws & Outlaws Professor Komagum & Peace Journalism http://kcur.org/post/professor-komagum-peace-journalism <p>A local professor/journalist spent 11 months in war-torn Uganda.&nbsp; This is his story.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 00:00:00 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Jeffrey Harvey & Matthew Long-Middleton 28808 at http://kcur.org Professor Komagum & Peace Journalism Better Off When Off The Grid http://kcur.org/post/better-when-grid <p>As you wonder at what gifts you might be getting this holiday season, have you ever consider what you could live without? &nbsp;What modern conveniences would you be willing to give up? &nbsp;How far "off the grid" do you think you could live? &nbsp;We're joined by <strong>Eric Brende</strong>, a man who dropped out of an MIT graduate program and moved with his wife to a remote community that lives entirely off the grid. &nbsp;He shares his 18 month experience on Central Standard.</p><p> Thu, 06 Dec 2012 01:01:44 +0000 Matthew Long-Middleton & Jabulani Leffall 28593 at http://kcur.org Better Off When Off The Grid Project Fly-Threads Inspired By History http://kcur.org/post/project-fly-threads-inspired-history <p><span style="font-family: Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; line-height: 15.600000381469727px;">The Negro Leagues Baseball Museum has teamed up with the KC&nbsp;</span>clothing boutique Method to <font face="Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif"><span style="line-height: 15.600000381469727px;">provide young men with a smart "fly" dress shirt as they embark on interviews that can transform their lives.</span></font></p><p><font face="Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif">&nbsp;&nbsp;</font></p><p> Wed, 05 Dec 2012 23:28:22 +0000 Matthew Long-Middleton & Jabulani Leffall 28591 at http://kcur.org Project Fly-Threads Inspired By History Flu Vaccine http://kcur.org/post/flu-vaccine <p>Every year, <strong>approximately 36,000 people die from influenza</strong>. &nbsp;This flu season is the worst in the last decade and yet the flu vaccine is readily available.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 05 Dec 2012 00:00:00 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Jeffrey Harvey & Matthew Long-Middleton 28529 at http://kcur.org Flu Vaccine The New American City http://kcur.org/post/new-american-city <p>We're live from the Kauffman Center at the <a href="http://www.cityage.org/thenewamericancity/">CityAge, New American City Conference</a> as part of a double bill featuring <em>Central Standard</em> and <em>Up To Date</em>.</p><p> Tue, 04 Dec 2012 02:03:03 +0000 Matthew Long-Middleton & Jabulani Leffall & Julie Denesha 28475 at http://kcur.org The New American City Addiction http://kcur.org/post/addiction <p>The holidays are a time to gather with friends and family in cheer.&nbsp; The holidays also are a time of high stress and anxiety which can lead to <strong>addictive behaviors</strong>.</p><p> Mon, 03 Dec 2012 00:20:48 +0000 Matthew Long-Middleton & Jabulani Leffall 28416 at http://kcur.org Addiction Davy Rothbart http://kcur.org/post/davy-rothbart <p>Mr. Rothbart&nbsp;is a man exploring the events that have shaped him. &nbsp;In his newest work, <em>My Heart is an Idiot </em>he<em>&nbsp;</em>strikes up conversations with a 100 year old black man on a bus to buffalo, admits to having phone sex, plays tricks on his deaf mother and ended up naked in New York. &nbsp;His conclusion&nbsp;is that perhaps throughout these misadventures perhaps his heart&nbsp;has been an idiot.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 29 Nov 2012 23:53:09 +0000 Matthew Long-Middleton & Jabulani Leffall 28316 at http://kcur.org Davy Rothbart The Joy Of Being Lazy http://kcur.org/post/joy-being-lazy <p>The hardest working band in Kansas City?&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 29 Nov 2012 00:00:00 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 28259 at http://kcur.org The Joy Of Being Lazy Gordon Parks' 100th Birthday http://kcur.org/post/gordon-parks-100th-birthday <p>On Wednesday’s Central Standard, we examine the legacy of Gordon Parks; the photographer, essayist, film maker, and native Kansan whose 100<sup>th</sup> birthday is this Friday.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 28 Nov 2012 00:00:00 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Jeffrey Harvey & Matthew Long-Middleton 28189 at http://kcur.org Gordon Parks' 100th Birthday