Sangeeta Shastry http://kcur.org en Kansas City Creative Couples: Rexroth & Skidmore http://kcur.org/post/kansas-city-creative-couples-rexroth-skidmore <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The work of iconic Mexican artists </span>Frida<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> </span>Kahlo<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> and Diego Rivera is on display this summer at the Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art. They’re part of an exhibit called </span><em style="line-height: 1.5;">Frida Kahlo, Diego Rivera and Masterpieces of Modern Mexico.</em></p> Mon, 12 Aug 2013 09:56:57 +0000 Sangeeta Shastry & Julie Denesha 41598 at http://kcur.org Kansas City Creative Couples: Rexroth & Skidmore Elmwood Cemetery Loses A Longtime Friend http://kcur.org/post/elmwood-cemetery-loses-longtime-friend <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Family and friends come and go as they pay their respects at Elmwood Cemetery, but one visitor lived on the grassy grounds her whole life.</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span></p> Tue, 06 Aug 2013 18:03:56 +0000 Brian Ellison, Suzanne Hogan, Sangeeta Shastry & Ross Stinemetz 41503 at http://kcur.org Elmwood Cemetery Loses A Longtime Friend The Psychology Of Branding http://kcur.org/post/psychology-branding <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Logos and brands are all around us, and we probably recognize more of them than we think. But what goes into creating those familiar symbols? And how do they work to make us buy the products they represent? Today on&nbsp;</span><a href="http://kcur.org/programs/central-standard" style="line-height: 1.5;"><em>Central Standard</em></a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">, we'll talk label design. Tue, 06 Aug 2013 14:31:50 +0000 Brian Ellison, Suzanne Hogan, Sangeeta Shastry & Ross Stinemetz 41483 at http://kcur.org The Psychology Of Branding Five Stories Behind KC Neighborhoods And Parks http://kcur.org/post/five-stories-behind-kc-neighborhoods-and-parks <p></p><p>Ever wonder how neighborhoods and parks around the city got their names? Host&nbsp;<strong>Monroe Dodd</strong> was back during Friday's show with a panel of guests to tell the stories behind the names of public spaces and communities in Kansas City.</p> Fri, 02 Aug 2013 14:20:54 +0000 Matthew Long-Middleton, Ross Stinemetz & Sangeeta Shastry 41243 at http://kcur.org Five Stories Behind KC Neighborhoods And Parks Artists Combat Gun Violence With Creativity http://kcur.org/post/artists-combat-gun-violence-creativity <p></p> Thu, 01 Aug 2013 17:46:27 +0000 Matthew Long-Middleton, Ross Stinemetz & Sangeeta Shastry 41241 at http://kcur.org Artists Combat Gun Violence With Creativity The History And Future Of Drive-Ins http://kcur.org/post/history-and-future-drive-ins <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Drive-in movie theaters were once a staple of American popular culture, but over the decades, they've been closing across the country. Kansas City, however, seems to be an epicenter for the disappearing relic across the rest of the United States - we've got three.</span></p> Thu, 01 Aug 2013 13:39:11 +0000 Matthew Long-Middleton, Sangeeta Shastry & Ross Stinemetz 41221 at http://kcur.org The History And Future Of Drive-Ins Kansas City Women Pave Their Path To The Soccer Pitch http://kcur.org/post/kansas-city-women-pave-their-path-soccer-pitch <p></p><p>The pop of the ball as it’s booted down field. Shouts from the sidelines. Cleats kicking up clumps of grass.<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p>Sound familiar? You might have played on a soccer team when you were growing up, or perhaps these are the sounds you hear when you shuttle your kids to practices and games.</p> Mon, 29 Jul 2013 21:27:51 +0000 Sangeeta Shastry 41032 at http://kcur.org Kansas City Women Pave Their Path To The Soccer Pitch Talking Tannins: Summer Wine http://kcur.org/post/talking-tannins-summer-wine <p>Summertime in Kansas City can be sweltering, but a good glass of chilled wine can be just the thing to cool off.<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span></p><p> Fri, 19 Jul 2013 14:43:18 +0000 Beth Lipoff, Steve Kraske & Sangeeta Shastry 40487 at http://kcur.org Talking Tannins: Summer Wine Tackling The World's Problems, One Step At A Time http://kcur.org/post/tackling-worlds-problems-one-step-time <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>We’d all like to make a difference in the world, but doing so on our own might seem overwhelming. And when it comes to global issues such as climate change, tackling such big challenges can feel impossible.</p><p></p> Mon, 15 Jul 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Sangeeta Shastry 40247 at http://kcur.org Tackling The World's Problems, One Step At A Time Oil And America's Foreign Relations http://kcur.org/post/oil-and-americas-foreign-relations <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span>America has had a long and complicated history with foreign oil, with a specific impact on our political relationships abroad.</p><p></p><p>Tuesday on&nbsp;<em>Up To Date</em>, we're&nbsp;joined by <strong>Jay Hakes</strong> to discuss the role that oil has played in our foreign relations.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">He’s an energy analyst and director of the Carter Presidential Library and Museum and the author of a book about what freedom from foreign oil can do for our country.&nbsp;</span></p> Mon, 15 Jul 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Sangeeta Shastry 40248 at http://kcur.org Oil And America's Foreign Relations Hot Summer Reads From Steve's Bookshelf http://kcur.org/post/hot-summer-reads-steves-bookshelf <p></p><p>The hot weather is out in full force this week, and <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up To Date</em></a> host Steve Kraske has a few good reads to crack open in the shade.</p><p> Wed, 12 Jun 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Sangeeta Shastry 38390 at http://kcur.org Hot Summer Reads From Steve's Bookshelf The 2012 Election: An Epic Battle http://kcur.org/post/2012-election-epic-battle <p></p><p>Victories for the Republican Party in the 2010 midterm elections seemed to block President Obama at every turn and the GOP appeared to have a clear shot at controlling all three branches of government. Mon, 10 Jun 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Steve Kraske, Kaitlin Brennan, Beth Lipoff & Sangeeta Shastry 38257 at http://kcur.org The 2012 Election: An Epic Battle Embracing Anger To Be Happier http://kcur.org/post/embracing-anger-be-happier <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Have you ever felt so angry that steam could be pouring out your ears?&nbsp;</span></p><p> Sun, 09 Jun 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Steve Kraske & Sangeeta Shastry 38133 at http://kcur.org Embracing Anger To Be Happier An Unconventional First Lady http://kcur.org/post/unconventional-first-lady <p></p><p>Thomas Jefferson's eldest and favorite daughter, Martha Jefferson Randolph, would often assume the role of First Lady after her mother died. Tue, 04 Jun 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Steve Kraske, Kaitlin Brennan & Sangeeta Shastry 37919 at http://kcur.org An Unconventional First Lady A Passionate And Prolific Relationship: Frida Kahlo & Diego Rivera http://kcur.org/post/passionate-and-prolific-relationship-frida-kahlo-diego-rivera <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">They’ve been immortalized in museums, history books and on film. Their rocky marriage and ties to Communism made for fascinating lives. Fri, 31 May 2013 13:56:29 +0000 Steve Kraske, Kaitlin Brennan & Sangeeta Shastry 37649 at http://kcur.org A Passionate And Prolific Relationship: Frida Kahlo & Diego Rivera