America’s Big Beef: An Industry In Transition http://kcur.org en Missouri Among States Targeted In Beef Recall http://kcur.org/post/missouri-among-states-targeted-beef-recall <p>The usual food safety advice applies in the latest ground beef recall: Don't order that hamburger rare.</p><p>A Michigan-based company has recalled 1.8 million pounds of ground beef earmarked for use at restaurants in four states, including Missouri, for possible E. Coli contamination.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Wolverine Packing Co. issued the recall Monday for distributors in Massachusetts, Michigan, Missouri and Ohio after 11 people became sick.&nbsp;</span></p> Mon, 19 May 2014 22:03:38 +0000 Elle Moxley 55994 at http://kcur.org Missouri Among States Targeted In Beef Recall How The U.S. Meat Industry Beefed Up Its Production http://kcur.org/post/how-us-meat-industry-beefed-its-production <p>Got a beef with the meat industry? You’re not the only one, but it’s taken many decades for the industry to assume the shape it has today.</p><p>In the first part of Tuesday's <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/date"><em>Up to Date</em></a>, we talk about the history of meat production and distribution in the United States. We examine the shift from family to factory livestock farming, how government intervention has affected the industry and how the popularity of organics is changing the conversation.</p><p><strong>Guests:</strong></p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 15:51:10 +0000 Jeremy Bernfeld & Beth Lipoff 47370 at http://kcur.org How The U.S. Meat Industry Beefed Up Its Production Tyson Foods Suspends Use Of Controversial Drug http://kcur.org/post/tyson-foods-suspends-use-controversial-drug <p>Tyson Foods, Inc., announced this week that it would soon suspend purchases of cattle that had been treated with a controversial drug, citing animal welfare concerns.</p><p>But many in the industry wonder if the real reason is not about cattle, but rather the battle for sales in other countries, where using drugs for meat production is banned.</p><p>“I really do think this is more a marketing ploy from Tyson to raise some awareness so they can garner some export business from our overseas export partners,” said Dan Norcini, an independent commodities broker.</p> Mon, 12 Aug 2013 12:50:04 +0000 Peggy Lowe 41800 at http://kcur.org Tyson Foods Suspends Use Of Controversial Drug Beef Checkoff Feud Exposes Divide Within Cattle Industry http://kcur.org/post/beef-checkoff-feud-exposes-divide-within-cattle-industry <p>When Allen Berry brought his 11 yearlings to the Green City Livestock Market in central Missouri last month, he paid into a fund that at first blush, seems a bargain.</p><p> Fri, 14 Dec 2012 01:42:06 +0000 Frank Morris & Peggy Lowe 28989 at http://kcur.org Beef Checkoff Feud Exposes Divide Within Cattle Industry Beef Feedlots Grapple With Endless Waste http://kcur.org/post/beef-feedlots-grapple-endless-waste <p>You think you deal with a lot of bull crap? Allan Sents needs a front-end loader and a dump truck to deal with all the cattle manure he’s up against. Literally.</p><p> Thu, 13 Dec 2012 01:36:17 +0000 Jeremy Bernfeld 28929 at http://kcur.org Beef Feedlots Grapple With Endless Waste Judging A Cow By More Than Its Cover http://kcur.org/post/judging-cow-more-its-cover <p>Backstage behind the cattle pens at the giant livestock show at the American Royal in Kansas City, Mo., “cow fitter” Maddee Moore was awash in glamour goods.</p><p> Tue, 11 Dec 2012 23:12:33 +0000 Frank Morris 28868 at http://kcur.org Judging A Cow By More Than Its Cover Public Research For Private Interests http://kcur.org/post/public-research-private-interests <p>Agricultural colleges in the top five beef-producing states have become quasi-arms of the cattle industry, selling science to corporate bidders who set the research agenda with their dollars. Tue, 11 Dec 2012 20:15:53 +0000 Peggy Lowe 28852 at http://kcur.org Public Research For Private Interests America's Big Beef http://kcur.org/post/americas-big-beef-0 <p>Just how much influence does <strong>Big Beef have in Cowtown</strong>? Mon, 10 Dec 2012 16:03:16 +0000 Beth Lipoff & Steve Kraske 28777 at http://kcur.org America's Big Beef Newspaper Series Faults Big Beef http://kcur.org/post/newspaper-series-faults-big-beef <p>What should you know about the beef on your table? <em>The</em> <em>Kansas City Star</em> answered that question with a <a href="http://www.kansascity.com/beef/">three-part series on the beef industry</a>.</p><p> Sun, 09 Dec 2012 19:01:23 +0000 Donna Vestal 28749 at http://kcur.org Newspaper Series Faults Big Beef New Reporting Series Covers 'America's Big Beef' http://kcur.org/post/new-reporting-series-covers-americas-big-beef <p>On Monday, <strong><a href="http://harvestpublicmedia.org/">Harvest Public Media</a></strong> launches a five-part series called "America’s Big Beef: An Industry in Transition." It's a deep dive into the big business of cattle. Fri, 07 Dec 2012 20:35:21 +0000 Harvest Public Media 28702 at http://kcur.org New Reporting Series Covers 'America's Big Beef'