Jeffrey Harvey http://kcur.org en How Many Roads: Black America Sings Dylan http://kcur.org/post/how-many-roads-black-america-sings-dylan <p>Soul and R&amp;B interpretations of classic Bob Dylan songs this week on Cyprus Avenue. Sun, 12 May 2013 18:15:11 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 36606 at http://kcur.org How Many Roads: Black America Sings Dylan Willie, Jake, & Steve http://kcur.org/post/willie-jake-steve <p>New music from Willie Nelson, Steve Earle, and Jake Bugg this week on Cyprus Avenue. Sat, 04 May 2013 18:50:08 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 36203 at http://kcur.org Willie, Jake, & Steve Richard Thompson @ The Folly http://kcur.org/post/richard-thompson-folly <p>On June 6 Cypress Avenue will feature Richard Thompson at the Folly Theater in <em>Cypress Avenue Live.&nbsp;</em>This week on program, we look at Thompson's storied recording career. Sun, 28 Apr 2013 21:24:23 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 35847 at http://kcur.org Richard Thompson @ The Folly Atlantic Records: 1959-1975 http://kcur.org/post/atlantic-records-1959-1975 <p>A look at the legacy of Atlantic Records, and the lesser-known artists the studio produced, this week on Cyprus Avenue. Sat, 13 Apr 2013 18:15:36 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 35047 at http://kcur.org Atlantic Records: 1959-1975 Rhythm To The Rhythms 2001-2002 http://kcur.org/post/rhythm-rhythms-2001-2002 <p>The second installment in a series looking back at the arc of popular music since the year 2000. Fri, 12 Apr 2013 20:31:41 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 34962 at http://kcur.org Rhythm To The Rhythms 2001-2002 Madeleine, Mary, & Iris http://kcur.org/post/madeleine-mary-iris <p>Three powerful female singer-songwriters this week on Cyprus Avenue. Sun, 31 Mar 2013 00:24:29 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 34345 at http://kcur.org Madeleine, Mary, & Iris Jimi Hendrix: People, Hell, & Angels http://kcur.org/post/jimi-hendrix-people-hell-angels <p>A look at new and previously unreleased material Hendrix produced before his untimely death. Sun, 24 Mar 2013 19:54:02 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 33977 at http://kcur.org Jimi Hendrix: People, Hell, & Angels Boz Scaggs: Memphis http://kcur.org/post/boz-scaggs-memphis <p>New and classic music from Boz this week on Cyprus Avenue. Sat, 16 Mar 2013 20:00:00 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 33980 at http://kcur.org Boz Scaggs: Memphis Rhythm To The Rhythms 2000 http://kcur.org/post/rhythm-rhythms-2000 <p>A new series focusing on the arc of popular music since the year 2000. Sun, 10 Mar 2013 21:29:53 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 33215 at http://kcur.org Rhythm To The Rhythms 2000 Survey http://kcur.org/post/survey-1 <p>New music from Terry Allen, Tom Jans, and duo Buddy Miller &amp; Jim Lauderdale. Sat, 02 Mar 2013 22:46:57 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 32857 at http://kcur.org Survey Aaron Neville: My True Story http://kcur.org/post/aaron-neville-my-true-story <p>This week on Cyprus Avenue, an exploration of Aaron Neville's new release <em>My True Story</em> - an album of early rock 'n roll and doo-wop covers. Sun, 24 Feb 2013 19:32:55 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 32484 at http://kcur.org Aaron Neville: My True Story Townes Van Zandt: Sunshine Boy http://kcur.org/post/townes-van-zandt-sunshine-boy <p>An exploration of the new release <em>Sunshine Boy</em>, which contains unreleased and demo tracks from the height of Townes Van Zandt's recording career. Sun, 17 Feb 2013 21:55:34 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 32121 at http://kcur.org Townes Van Zandt: Sunshine Boy New Blues http://kcur.org/post/new-blues <p>Traditional blues music has influenced generations of musicians, but is it still alive in this modern era?&nbsp; On this week's Cyprus Avenue, we explore new releases from Ben Harper/Charlie Musselwhite and Gary Clark Jr. that keep the blues tradition going strong. Sun, 10 Feb 2013 21:10:04 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 31747 at http://kcur.org New Blues Survey http://kcur.org/post/survey-0 <p>A survey of Bill Shapiro's favorite new releases. Sun, 03 Feb 2013 19:00:00 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 31381 at http://kcur.org Survey School Choice http://kcur.org/post/school-choice <p>With education options more diverse than ever, some parents are eschewing the standard public school system.&nbsp; With this choice, comes the debate on where taxpayer dollars should be going.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 23 Jan 2013 20:59:03 +0000 Brian Ellison, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 30831 at http://kcur.org School Choice Historic Building Preservation In Kansas City http://kcur.org/post/historic-building-preservation-kansas-city <p>Change is inevitable.&nbsp; But what if that change affects a community-loved building, or historic landmark?</p><p></p><p> Sat, 19 Jan 2013 22:18:20 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey & Matthew Long-Middleton & Monroe Dodd 30623 at http://kcur.org Historic Building Preservation In Kansas City The Beatles: Their 12 Greatest Songs http://kcur.org/post/beatles-their-12-greatest-songs <p><a href="http://www.rollingstone.com/music/lists/100-greatest-beatles-songs-20110919" target="_blank"><em>Rolling Stone</em></a> has compiled a list of The Beatles' 100 greatest songs.&nbsp;</p><p> Sat, 19 Jan 2013 20:00:00 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 30506 at http://kcur.org The Beatles: Their 12 Greatest Songs Captive Audience: The Telecom Industry http://kcur.org/post/captive-audience-telecom-industry <p>Ten years ago, <strong>the United States stood at the forefront of the Internet revolution.</strong> With some of the fastest speeds and lowest prices in the world for high-speed Internet access, the nation was poised to be the global leader in the new knowledge-based economy.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 16 Jan 2013 22:00:00 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 30553 at http://kcur.org Captive Audience: The Telecom Industry Surviving The College Application Process http://kcur.org/post/surviving-college-application-process <p>Most of the time, the long and winding road of choosing a college is forgotten in the subsequent years of hazy academic exploits.&nbsp; But for most high school seniors, this time of year is an involved process that can lead to anxious days and sleepless nights.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 15 Jan 2013 20:29:14 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 30401 at http://kcur.org Surviving The College Application Process Dan Penn: The Sound Of Muscle Shoals http://kcur.org/post/dan-penn-sound-muscle-shoals <p>This week on Cyprus Avenue, a look at the career of a man who was once described as the "secret hero" of 1960's R&amp;B music. Sat, 12 Jan 2013 20:00:00 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 30283 at http://kcur.org Dan Penn: The Sound Of Muscle Shoals Eating Healthy In The New Year http://kcur.org/post/eating-healthy-new-year <p>We're 11 days into the new year.&nbsp; How's that resolution to eat better going?</p><p></p><p> Fri, 11 Jan 2013 22:52:17 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey & Charles Ferruzza 30238 at http://kcur.org Eating Healthy In The New Year 2012: The Year They All Came Back http://kcur.org/post/2012-year-they-all-came-back <p>The year 2012 brought new releases by some of the biggest names in popular music.&nbsp; Bill Shapiro shares some highlights. Fri, 11 Jan 2013 18:18:08 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey 30066 at http://kcur.org 2012: The Year They All Came Back Crime & Safety In The Urban Core http://kcur.org/post/crime-safety-urban-core <p>In 2008, elected officials and urban residents came together under the direction of 2nd District Jackson County Legislator, Bishop James Tindall, Sr. to discuss community change in the urban core.&nbsp; This was the first convening of the <a href="http://kcurbansummit.com/" target="_blank">Kansas City Urban Summit</a>.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 10 Jan 2013 22:36:16 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 30184 at http://kcur.org Crime & Safety In The Urban Core Animal Shelters Of Kansas City http://kcur.org/post/animal-shelters-kansas-city <p>Local shelters are seeing a record number of animals coming into their facilities each day.</p><p></p><p> Wed, 09 Jan 2013 21:11:50 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 30120 at http://kcur.org Animal Shelters Of Kansas City Hypnotism http://kcur.org/post/hypnotism <p>What do Franz Mesmer, James Braid, and The Professor from <em>Gilligan's Island</em> have in common?</p><p></p><p> Tue, 08 Jan 2013 00:00:00 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 30053 at http://kcur.org Hypnotism Stretching Your Palate http://kcur.org/post/stretching-your-palate <p>Chances are you have eaten at his restaurant, taken in a show at his venue, or even met the dude.&nbsp; But did you know about his plan to curb regional invasive species by cooking and eating them?</p><p></p><p> Tue, 08 Jan 2013 00:00:00 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 30060 at http://kcur.org Stretching Your Palate Transformation In The New Year http://kcur.org/post/transformation-new-year <p>With each new year, comes the inevitable setting of lofty personal improvement goals.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 07 Jan 2013 19:55:01 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 30047 at http://kcur.org Transformation In The New Year Best & Worst Movies Of 2012 http://kcur.org/post/best-worst-movies-2012 <p>Was <em>Les Miserables</em> miserable?&nbsp; Was <em>Jack Reacher</em> a reach?&nbsp; Should anyone have taken <em>The Guilt Trip</em>?<em>&nbsp; </em>These answers and more, on this week's edition of <strong>Central Standard Friday</strong>.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 04 Jan 2013 22:41:36 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey & Russ Simmons 29966 at http://kcur.org Best & Worst Movies Of 2012 Corner To Corner Pt. II - The Northeast http://kcur.org/post/corner-corner-pt-ii-northeast <p>Getting to know Kansas City, one neighborhood at a time.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 03 Jan 2013 19:35:24 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 29860 at http://kcur.org Corner To Corner Pt. II - The Northeast Corner To Corner Pt. I - The Plaza http://kcur.org/post/corner-corner-pt-i-plaza <p>Getting to know Kansas City, one neighborhood at a time.</p><p></p><p></p><p> Wed, 02 Jan 2013 22:16:05 +0000 Jabulani Leffall, Matthew Long-Middleton & Jeffrey Harvey 29856 at http://kcur.org Corner To Corner Pt. I - The Plaza