Robert Christgau http://kcur.org en Latyrx: Still Deft And Defiant After Two Decades http://kcur.org/post/latyrx-still-deft-and-defiant-after-two-decades <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OsvEx3r_Uvs</p> Tue, 12 Nov 2013 21:28:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 46731 at http://kcur.org Latyrx: Still Deft And Defiant After Two Decades Aesop Rock And Kimya Dawson Showcase Their Strengths http://kcur.org/post/aesop-rock-and-kimya-dawson-showcase-their-strengths <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Q_7fT-vSXU</p> Mon, 20 May 2013 20:24:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 37078 at http://kcur.org Aesop Rock And Kimya Dawson Showcase Their Strengths Marc Ribot Isn't Trying To Comfort Anyone http://kcur.org/post/marc-ribot-isnt-trying-comfort-anyone After six years as a sideman for many soul veterans, <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/17083894/marc-ribot">Marc Ribot</a> made his name in 1985 with <em>Rain Dogs</em>, the album that marked <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15295750/tom-waits">Tom Waits</a>' permanent transition from eccentric singer-songwriter to truly weird singer-songwriter. Ribot has held down straight gigs since then, but his work has tended toward the avant-garde. Tue, 30 Apr 2013 20:43:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 35966 at http://kcur.org Marc Ribot Isn't Trying To Comfort Anyone Jonny Fritz: A Country Jester Gets Personal http://kcur.org/post/jonny-fritz-country-jester-gets-personal <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y2_RIg0vZPQ</p> Thu, 25 Apr 2013 21:27:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 35703 at http://kcur.org Jonny Fritz: A Country Jester Gets Personal Homeboy Sandman: A Rapper Leaves Law Behind http://kcur.org/post/homeboy-sandman-rapper-leaves-law-behind The bare facts of Homeboy Sandman's back story don't sound very hip-hop: prep school in New Hampshire, Ivy League B.A., even some pieces for The Huffington Post. But, as is often the case with class and race in America, bare facts don't tell the whole story.<p>Sandman's Dominican-born father was a gifted heavyweight who quit boxing to become a lawyer. His Puerto Rican mom graduated from college around the time her son was winning his third scholarship, this time to law school. Wed, 19 Dec 2012 21:19:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 29281 at http://kcur.org Homeboy Sandman: A Rapper Leaves Law Behind Big K.R.I.T.: Big Heart, Thick Drawl http://kcur.org/post/big-krit-big-heart-thick-drawl <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/137107219/big-k-r-i-t">Big K.R.I.T.</a> will turn 26 in August and seems halfway to stardom. His Def Jam debut, <em>Live from the Underground</em>, will feature a <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15402961/b-b-king">B.B. King</a> cameo and is scheduled for a June 5 release. It should hit the charts high.<p>Although he's never had an official album, he's been releasing free mixtapes regularly since 2005. His 2010 <em>K.R.I.T. Wuz Here</em> won him a contract with Def Jam. 2011's <em>Return of 4Eva</em> made many top 10 lists. Fri, 25 May 2012 20:28:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 18318 at http://kcur.org Big K.R.I.T.: Big Heart, Thick Drawl By This 'Beak And Claw,' A Trio Shall Synthesize http://kcur.org/post/beak-and-claw-trio-shall-synthesize <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15121560/sufjan-stevens">Sufjan Stevens</a> is a classically trained singer-songwriter whose recent work has leaned symphonic. <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/92313933/son-lux">Son Lux</a> is a classically trained beatmaker whose solo albums do indeed evoke luxury. Serengeti is a self-trained rapper who creates voices for a panoply of full-fledged characters who range from scufflers to yuppies. Wed, 23 May 2012 20:42:00 +0000 Robert Christgau 18194 at http://kcur.org By This 'Beak And Claw,' A Trio Shall Synthesize