Farmer of the Future http://kcur.org en The Kansas City Farmer Of The Future http://kcur.org/post/kansas-city-farmer-future <p>For this Wednesday&#39;s <a href="http://kcur.org/programs/centralstandard"><em>Central Standard</em></a>, we bring you our second show asking-- <em>what will the farmer of the future look like?</em>&nbsp; But this time we&#39;re looking for answers in our own metro area.</p><p> Tue, 29 May 2012 21:49:46 +0000 Andrea Silenzi & Jabulani Leffall 18479 at http://kcur.org The Kansas City Farmer Of The Future A Plot In The Middle http://kcur.org/post/plot-middle <p>A few years ago, things were going smoothly for Eric Neill and his family. Neill was making good money as a construction superintendent for a commercial contractor in Kansas City, traveling the country, running challenging job sites. But he wasn&rsquo;t satisfied.</p><p> Fri, 25 May 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Frank Morris 18249 at http://kcur.org A Plot In The Middle What Will The Farmer Of The Future Look Like? http://kcur.org/post/what-will-farmer-future-look <p>For this Thursday&#39;s <em><a href="http://kcur.org/programs/centralstandard">Central Standard</a>, </em>we&#39;ve teamed up with Iowa Public Radio&#39;s <a href="http://news.iowapublicradio.org/programs/talk-iowa"><em>Talk of Iowa</em></a> and <a href="http://harvestpublicmedia.org">Harvest Public Media</a> to produce a talk show on the challenges facing young farmers today.</p><p> Thu, 24 May 2012 12:38:39 +0000 Andrea Silenzi, Jabulani Leffall & Charlie Upchurch 18229 at http://kcur.org What Will The Farmer Of The Future Look Like? Who Are You Calling A Corporate Farmer? http://kcur.org/post/who-are-you-calling-corporate-farmer <p>A surprising thing happens while touring Chris Boeckmann&rsquo;s turkey farm, where 50,000 birds are grown each year for Cargill Inc.</p><p> Thu, 24 May 2012 02:00:00 +0000 Peggy Lowe 17936 at http://kcur.org Who Are You Calling A Corporate Farmer? The Sustainable Hand http://kcur.org/post/sustainable-hand <p>The farmer of future will grow food and raise animals with tomorrow in mind. They&rsquo;ll know contributing to the food supply is not enough. If the soil, air and water they use to produce food is damaged, good luck feeding anyone.&nbsp;</p><p> Wed, 23 May 2012 02:00:00 +0000 Jessica Naudziunas 17927 at http://kcur.org The Sustainable Hand Take Me To Your Fields: Robots On The Farm http://kcur.org/post/take-me-your-fields-robots-farm <p>There&rsquo;s always work to be done on the farm, but often it&rsquo;s the same work day, after day, after day. Parts of the job must feel a bit like an assembly line.</p><p> Tue, 22 May 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Jeremy Bernfeld 18054 at http://kcur.org Take Me To Your Fields: Robots On The Farm Blending Of Cultures May Be Blueprint For Growth http://kcur.org/post/blending-cultures-may-be-blueprint-growth <p>Sioux County, in northwest Iowa, is known for its Dutch pastries. The landscape is dotted with Lutheran and reform churches.&nbsp; But today, Catholic churches and tortillerias are creeping into the landscape &mdash; signs of the new residents joining this vibrant community.</p><p> Mon, 21 May 2012 01:00:00 +0000 Kathleen Masterson 17920 at http://kcur.org Blending Of Cultures May Be Blueprint For Growth