Election 2012 http://kcur.org en Conservatives' Win In Kansas Shows Support For Brownback Agenda http://kcur.org/post/conservatives-win-kansas-shows-support-brownback-agenda <p>Kansas statehouse races got big league attention and money this year as Governor Sam Brownback's agenda begins to unfold. Thu, 08 Nov 2012 17:42:29 +0000 Laura Ziegler 27296 at http://kcur.org Conservatives' Win In Kansas Shows Support For Brownback Agenda Missouri Weighs In On Ballot Issues http://kcur.org/post/missouri-weighs-ballot-issues <p>Missouri voters considered four ballot measures this election.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 16:23:22 +0000 Maria Carter 27235 at http://kcur.org Missouri Weighs In On Ballot Issues Democrats Win Most Statewide Races In Missouri http://kcur.org/post/democrats-win-most-statewide-races-missouri <p>Despite Republican presidential candidate Mitt Romney getting a decisive win in Missouri, Democratic candidates fared well in statewide races.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 16:09:13 +0000 Maria Carter 27234 at http://kcur.org Democrats Win Most Statewide Races In Missouri Incumbents Dominate Missouri Congressional Races http://kcur.org/post/incumbents-dominate-missouri-congressional-races <p>The incumbent Congressmen in the local area easily held on to their seats: Vicky Hartzler, Emanuel Cleaver and Sam Graves.&nbsp;&nbsp; We have the complete results for those races and the rest of Missouri. Wed, 07 Nov 2012 16:00:52 +0000 Maria Carter 27233 at http://kcur.org Incumbents Dominate Missouri Congressional Races Nixon Re-Elected, Defeats Spence http://kcur.org/post/nixon-re-elected-defeats-spence <p>In a state that went overwhelmingly for Mitt Romney, Democrat Jay Nixon was re-elected to a second term as governor of Missouri.&nbsp; Wed, 07 Nov 2012 14:55:11 +0000 Rachel Lippmann & Chris McDaniel 27228 at http://kcur.org Nixon Re-Elected, Defeats Spence Hartzler Seals Congressional Seat http://kcur.org/post/hartzler-seals-congressional-seat <p>U.S. Representative Vicky Hartzler held on to the U.S. 4<sup>th</sup> district seat in what turned out to be a decisive victory over Democrat Teresa Hensley.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 14:26:25 +0000 Kristofor Husted 27225 at http://kcur.org Hartzler Seals Congressional Seat Congressman Cleaver Stresses Urban-Rural Connection In Re-Election http://kcur.org/post/congressman-cleaver-stresses-urban-rural-connection-re-election <p>Missouri’s 5<sup>th</sup> District Congressman Emanuel Cleaver got 60 percent of the vote and an easy win over Republican opponent Jacob Turk.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 14:19:11 +0000 Dan Verbeck 27224 at http://kcur.org Congressman Cleaver Stresses Urban-Rural Connection In Re-Election Missouri Voters Pass Proposition E http://kcur.org/post/missouri-voters-pass-proposition-e <p>Almost sixty-two percent of Missouri ballots were cast in favor of <a href="http://kcur.org/post/health-exchange-heart-missouri-s-proposition-e?nopop=1">Proposition E</a> Tuesday night.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 14:16:41 +0000 Emilie Mutert 27223 at http://kcur.org Missouri Voters Pass Proposition E McCaskill Beats Akin In Race That Was Not Even Close http://kcur.org/post/mccaskill-beats-akin-race-was-not-even-close <p>Senator Claire McCaskill did something few thought possible last night - she won a decisive re-election victory over Representative Todd Akin in one of the most closely watched Congressional races in the country.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 13:16:42 +0000 Frank Morris 27212 at http://kcur.org McCaskill Beats Akin In Race That Was Not Even Close VIDEO: An Awkward Moment, As Karl Rove Objects To Fox's Ohio Call http://kcur.org/post/video-awkward-moment-karl-rove-objects-foxs-ohio-call <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJg3z5c93zU</p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 12:51:00 +0000 editor 27213 at http://kcur.org VIDEO: An Awkward Moment, As Karl Rove Objects To Fox's Ohio Call Republican Response Likely To Be Tactical, Not Transformative http://kcur.org/post/republican-response-likely-be-tactical-not-transformative With President Obama's defeat of Mitt Romney, the Republican Party finds itself in the same place it was four years ago — once again coming up short in its attempt to win the most powerful office in American democracy.<p>It faces the inevitable soul-searching the losing party undergoes, to greater or lesser degrees, after every contest for the one office whose occupant represents the entire nation.<p>And how the GOP reacts could help determine its fortunes in 2016.<p>Initial indications from within the party — predictably enough — were that Romney's defeat wasn't a rejection of the Republican Wed, 07 Nov 2012 10:41:00 +0000 Frank James 27201 at http://kcur.org Republican Response Likely To Be Tactical, Not Transformative For Obama, Vindication, But Not A Mandate http://kcur.org/post/obama-vindication-not-mandate Winning matters. Having earned a second term, President Obama will attempt to build on and expand the agenda from his first, launching new initiatives on tax policy, education and immigration.<p>But having won the popular vote by a bare majority — and still facing a divided Congress — Obama may find it difficult to gather momentum for his policies.<p>Despite the close result in the popular vote nationwide, Obama wasted no time claiming vindication for his ideas. Wed, 07 Nov 2012 10:21:00 +0000 editor 27200 at http://kcur.org For Obama, Vindication, But Not A Mandate Voters Reject Missouri's Proposition B http://kcur.org/post/voters-reject-missouris-proposition-b <p>Third time is <em>not</em> the charm for those trying to increase Missouri’s lowest-in-the-nation cigarette tax.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 07:32:28 +0000 Elana Gordon 27194 at http://kcur.org Voters Reject Missouri's Proposition B Transcript: President Obama's Victory Speech http://kcur.org/post/transcript-president-obamas-victory-speech <em>Transcript of President Obama's victory speech in Chicago. Source: </em>Federal News Service<p><em>Editor's Note: NPR transcripts are created on a rush deadline by a contractor for NPR, and accuracy and availability may vary. This text may not be in its final form and may be updated or revised in the future.</em><p>(Cheers, applause.)<p><strong>AUDIENCE MEMBERS:</strong> (Chanting.) Four more years! Four more years! Four more years! Four more years! Four more years! Four more years! Four more years! Four more years!<p><strong>PRESIDENT BARACK OBAMA:</strong> Thank you. Thank you. Wed, 07 Nov 2012 07:21:00 +0000 editor 27193 at http://kcur.org Transcript: President Obama's Victory Speech The Political Pundits: 2012 Election Results http://kcur.org/post/political-pundits-2012-election-results <p>The votes are tallied; the results are in.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 07:19:03 +0000 Stephen Steigman & Steve Kraske 27192 at http://kcur.org The Political Pundits: 2012 Election Results Watch: President Obama's Victory Speech http://kcur.org/post/watch-president-obamas-victory-speech <p>Here watch the video of President Obama's victory speech, delivered to roaring crowds very early Wednesday morning in Chicago.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 07:15:59 +0000 Emilie Mutert 27189 at http://kcur.org Watch: President Obama's Victory Speech On The Issues: How Obama Prevailed http://kcur.org/post/issues-how-obama-prevailed President Obama won re-election despite an economy struggling to recover from recession and deep reservations about his signature first-term achievement, the nation's new health care law.<p>NPR's Liz Halloran <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/itsallpolitics/2012/11/06/164527819/obamas-win-powered-by-organization-if-not-ideas" target="_blank">explained</a> how Obama's campaign organization helped him overcome these and other challenges. Wed, 07 Nov 2012 06:51:00 +0000 editor 27190 at http://kcur.org On The Issues: How Obama Prevailed Audio And Transcript: Romney's Concession Speech http://kcur.org/post/transcript-mitt-romneys-concession-speech <em>Transcript of Mitt Romney's concession speech in the presidential race in Boston. Source: </em>Federal News Service<p><em>Editor's Note: NPR transcripts are created on a rush deadline by a contractor for NPR, and accuracy and availability may vary. This text may not be in its final form and may be updated or revised in the future.</em><p>(Cheers, applause.)<p><strong>MITT ROMNEY:</strong> Thank you. Thank you. Thank you, my friends. Thank you so very much. Thank you. (Cheers, applause.) Thank you. Thank you.<p>I have just called President Obama to congratulate him on his victory. Wed, 07 Nov 2012 06:25:00 +0000 editor 27188 at http://kcur.org Audio And Transcript: Romney's Concession Speech A Conservative, A Liberal, And A Moderate Walk Into A Bar... http://kcur.org/post/conservative-liberal-and-moderate-walk-bar <p>Sometimes politicians are funny on purpose, and other times what politicians say in all seriousness is the greatest joke of all.</p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 00:46:35 +0000 Jeffrey Harvey & Jabulani Leffall 27169 at http://kcur.org A Conservative, A Liberal, And A Moderate Walk Into A Bar... Live Election Coverage From KCUR http://kcur.org/post/live-election-coverage-kcur <p><span id="internal-source-marker_0.42131432081116404" style="font-size:15px;font-family:Arial;color:#000000;background-color:transparent;font-weight:normal;font-style:normal;font-variant:normal;text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;">KCUR has live election coverage starting at 7 p.m. tonight. </span><span style="font-size:15px;font-family:Arial;color:#000000;background-color:transparent;font-weight:normal;font-style:normal;font-variant:normal;text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;">Tune in to 89.3 FM or follow along online. </span></p><p> Wed, 07 Nov 2012 00:03:15 +0000 Emilie Mutert 27180 at http://kcur.org Live Election Coverage From KCUR Battle Comes To An End In US Senate Race http://kcur.org/post/battle-comes-end-us-senate-race <p>Suburban Missouri has been a battleground in the U.S. Senate race. KCUR’s Frank Morris was in Chesterfield, outside St. Louis, with the Akin campaign, before he conceded to Democratic incumbent Claire McCaskill.</p><p> Tue, 06 Nov 2012 23:43:21 +0000 Frank Morris 27179 at http://kcur.org Battle Comes To An End In US Senate Race Variable Wait Times, Some ID Confusion At Polls http://kcur.org/post/variable-wait-times-some-id-confusion-polls <p>Voters from Paola to Belton experienced many short or quick-moving lines Tuesday morning at polling places.</p><p> Tue, 06 Nov 2012 18:44:58 +0000 Emilie Mutert 27156 at http://kcur.org Variable Wait Times, Some ID Confusion At Polls If You Haven't Voted Yet, Expect Lines http://kcur.org/post/if-you-havent-voted-yet-expect-lines <p>Voter turnout has been heavy in portions of Missouri Tuesday morning, according to the Secretary of State’s office.&nbsp; Tue, 06 Nov 2012 18:42:27 +0000 Marshall Griffin 27158 at http://kcur.org If You Haven't Voted Yet, Expect Lines Ohio And Florida: Checking In With Two Key States http://kcur.org/post/ohio-and-florida-checking-two-key-states Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>This is MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Renee Montagne.<p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>And I'm Steve Inskeep. Good morning. People have been joking for weeks that the candidates are actually running for president of Ohio. That's how vital the state is, but here's a reminder about the electoral map. It is at least theoretically possible for either candidate to lose Ohio and still reach 270 electoral votes by winning some combination of other states. Tue, 06 Nov 2012 15:03:00 +0000 Debbie Elliott 27142 at http://kcur.org PHOTO: Mitt And Ann Romney Cast Their Ballots In Massachusetts http://kcur.org/post/photo-mitt-and-ann-romney-cast-their-ballots-massachusetts The Republican presidential nominee Gov. Mitt Romney and his wife Ann cast their ballots near their home in Belmont, Mass. this morning.<p>Garrett Jackson, Romney's assistant, has been <a href="http://twitter.com/dgjackson">keeping a close record on Twitter</a> of Romney's Election Day movements.<p>Among his observations: Romney had <a href="http://twitter.com/dgjackson/status/265803832888528896">peanut butter and honey on toast for breakfast</a>. Tue, 06 Nov 2012 14:23:00 +0000 editor 27140 at http://kcur.org PHOTO: Mitt And Ann Romney Cast Their Ballots In Massachusetts It's Election Day: 10 Headlines That Tell Today's Story http://kcur.org/post/its-election-day-10-headlines-tell-todays-story It's finally here! It's Election Day. Tue, 06 Nov 2012 13:08:00 +0000 editor 27134 at http://kcur.org It's Election Day: 10 Headlines That Tell Today's Story Guide For The Day: An Election Day Timeline http://kcur.org/post/guide-day-election-day-timeline The finish line is in sight as voters make their final decisions on Election Day. Here's a guide to key times of the day across the nation. Stay with NPR throughout the day as we follow the presidential race and key battles that will determine control of the House and Senate.<p>Join NPR to hear live coverage, which begins at 8 p.m. EST on NPR.org and many member stations.<p>For updates, check in to NPR's <a href="http://elections.npr.org/" target="_blank">digital election headquarters</a>, which includes an election night live blog starting at 6 p.m. EST, as well as electoral projections. Tue, 06 Nov 2012 12:03:00 +0000 editor 27127 at http://kcur.org Guide For The Day: An Election Day Timeline The Battle For Congress: Senate And House Races To Watch http://kcur.org/post/battle-congress-senate-and-house-races-watch For Republicans itching to regain control of the Senate, Tuesday's election presents a rare opportunity. Only 10 GOP incumbents are on the ballot, compared with nearly two dozen Democrats and independents who caucus with them.<p>That means the magic number for Republicans is low. They need only a net gain of three or four seats to take over the Senate — and, assuming they keep the U.S. House of Representatives, consolidate their influence on Capitol Hill. Tue, 06 Nov 2012 12:01:00 +0000 Carrie Johnson 27128 at http://kcur.org The Battle For Congress: Senate And House Races To Watch Voters To Settle Tight And Turbulent Presidential Battle http://kcur.org/post/voters-settle-tight-and-turbulent-presidential-battle As Americans go to the polls, one of the closest presidential races in years may be determined by a state in the Midwest and a hurricane named Sandy.<p>After a campaign that has cost some $6 billion, the two candidates are in the same place they started: with President Obama a smidgen ahead of challenger Mitt Romney, so close that differences are in most cases statistically insignificant.<p>Obama seems to have regained his footing after his sleepy performance in the first debate last month. Tue, 06 Nov 2012 11:58:00 +0000 Barbara Bradley Hagerty 27130 at http://kcur.org Voters To Settle Tight And Turbulent Presidential Battle Predicting Results In Missouri, Clay County As Bellwether http://kcur.org/post/predicting-results-missouri-clay-county-bellwether <p>It's Election Day, and the polls close at 7 p.m. in Kansas and in Missouri.</p><p> Tue, 06 Nov 2012 11:00:00 +0000 Steve Bell 27108 at http://kcur.org Predicting Results In Missouri, Clay County As Bellwether